Saturday April 17, 2021



Delays and Closings

Last Updated:
Data Resets at 6:30PM Daily

People Section

Have a birth, engagement, marriage, anniversary, or obituary you want to appear in The People's Paper?
Email it to:
We receive notices from:
Mishler's Funeral Home
Community Hospital Bremen
If you use another facility for birth or burial, consider submitting the information or pictures to us directly.
This is a free service.

BHS Academic Achievements Honored

by Amy Wenger on June 6, 2014

As the 2013-14 school year officially draws to a close, several Bremen High School students were honored for various achievements that they have earned throughout the course of their high school academic careers.  Those students were celebrated during the school's annual Recognition Day ceremony, held on Wednesday, May 28.

The list of those receiving awards is as follows:

Special Recognition
Foreign Exchange Students - Felix Renker & Kristina Leova
Teacher of the Year - Keith Board

Concert Choir
Outstanding Concert Choir Female Vocalist - Shyanna Jimenez
Outstanding Concert Choir Male Vocalist - Kerry Herman

Swing Choir
Outstanding Female - Bay Cope
Outstanding Male - Evan Wilson

Outstanding Actor - Nick Bonebrake
Outstanding Actress - Bay Cope
Randy Sriver Drama Award - Salvador Perez & Bay Cope
Rookie of the Year - Hudson Thornton

Outstanding Brass Student - Jazsper SilverRaven
Outstanding Percussion Student - Felix Renker
Outstanding Woodwind Student - Salvador Perez

Special Awards
The Prudential Spirit of Community Recognition - Sara Slabaugh
DECA ICDC Competitor Award - Jaclyn Lawmaster

Social Studies
Outstanding World Geography Student - Cole George
Outstanding World History Student - Hayley Keyser
Outstanding U.S. History Student - Hayden Zimmerman
Outstanding Economics Student - Aimee Nabholz
Outstanding Government Student - Morgan Smith
Spirit of Social Studies Award - Tyler LaFlash
Outstanding Psychology Student - Allison Cullers

Anchor of the Year - Amanda Spearman
Techy of the Year - Melissa Krathwohl
Most Valuable Staff Member - Melissa Krathwohl
Most Promising Anchor Leader - Taylor Steigmeyer
Most Promising Tech Leader - Austin Sigler

High Achievement in Biology I - Brianna Andrews, Lacey Bennitt, Trey Dumph, & Jose Navarro
Most Outstanding in Biology I - Ivy Enamarado & Liz Lawmaster
High Achievement in Biology II - Gina Thornton & Audrey Wrightsman
Earth Science Students of the Year - Luke Snyder, Christina Prawat, Matt Reese, & Justin Niles
Astronomy Students of the Year - Morgan Smith & Eric Knepper
Outstanding Effort in Chemistry I - Chelsea Huppert, Marisa Browning, Nolan Filchak, Trent Stichter, Tori Homann, Jessica Gingerich, & Gabby Knoblock
Outstanding Effort in Chemistry II - Morgan Anderson
Outstanding Physics Student - Morgan Smith & Brayden Lancaster
Outstanding Honors Physics Student - Gabriella Buck

Outstanding Achievement in Algebra I Student - Cole George
Outstanding Achievement in Geometry Student - Ivy Enamorado & Liz Lawmaster
Outstanding Achievement in Algebra II Student - Andrew Cullers & Chelsea Huppert
Outstanding Probability/Statistics Student - Aimee Nabholz
Outstanding Pre-Calculus Student - Gabrielle Buck & Kelsa Anderson
Outstanding Trigonometry Student - Kelsa Anderson & Gabrielle Buck
Outstanding ACP Calculus Student - Allison Cullers & Morgan Smith
Outstanding ACP Finite Student - Jorgi Klockow

Outstanding ICE Student - Rebecca Young
Outstanding Accounting Student - Allison Cullers
Outstanding Computer Illustration & Graphics Student - Brooke Tolle & Cristian Alvarado
Four-Year Business Award - Jacqueline Hundt & Allison Cullers
Outstanding Marketing Student - Jaclyn Lawmaster
Outstanding Sports & Marketing Student - Allison Cullers

Foreign Language
Outstanding Spanish I Student - Cole George & Ivy Enamorado
Outstanding Spanish II Student - Andrew Cullers
Outstanding Spanish III Student - Brooke Bahr
Outstanding AP Spanish Student - Amanda Esparza

Family and Consumer Science
Outstanding FACS Student - Rebecca Young
Outstanding Achievement in FACS Award - Betsy Bailey, Jasmine Polson, Madi Stover, Liz Watson, Maddy Hershberger, Katie Walter, & Amanda Kuhns

Outstanding Freshman English Student - Cole George, Elizabeth Lawmaster, & Ivy Enamorado
Outstanding Sophomore English Student - Chelsea Huppert
Outstanding Junior English Student - Gabrielle Buck
Outstanding Senior English Student - Clayton Philips
Outstanding Work Ethic Award - Jose Navarro
Outstanding ACP Literature Student - Allison Cullers
Outstanding ACP Composition Student - Allison Cullers
Outstanding Biblical Literature Student - Brooke Bahr

Most Valuable Staff Member, Yearbook - Melissa Krathwohl
Work Ethic Award, Yearbook - Alyssa Richards
Most Promising Future Yearbook Leader - Gabrielle Buck
Best Eye for Editing the Yearbook - Dania Alvarado
Most Valuable Staff Member, Newspaper - Alexis Pate
Work Ethic Award, Newspaper - Jasmine Schafer
Most Promising Future Newspaper Leader - Amber Swint
Best Eye for Editing the Newspaper - Joey Atkins

Outstanding Freshman Agriculture Student - Garrett Allen
Outstanding Sophomore Agriculture Student - Alex Adams
Outstanding Junior Agriculture Student - Gabrielle Buck
Outstanding Senior Agriculture Student - Josh Fuchs

Industrial Technology
Outstanding CAD I Student - Kelsa Anderson, Gracie Enamorado, & Kylie Murphy
Outstanding CAD II Student - Bryan Starcevich & Hayden Zimmerman
Outstanding Mechanical Drafting Student - Ben Danner & Luke Wonnacott
Outstanding Architecture I Student - Matthew Moore & Nathan Rzeszewski
Outstanding Architecture II Student - Evan Davenport & Hudson Thornton
Outstanding Manufacturing Student - Kerry Herman, Felix Renker, & Tony Richard

Black & White Drawing Awards - Ivy Enamorado, Jose Navarro, & Liz Lawmaster
Color Drawing Awards - Tayah Johnson, Ivy Enamorado, & Jose Navarro
Painting/Printmaking Awards - Cassie Sears, Maddy Coffel, & Julia Esparza
Photography Awards - Claire Schmidt, Tori Homann, & Selena Andrade
3D Art Awards - Jenna Hutchens-Ton, Amber Swint, & Eric Starke
Best of Show Award - Jose Navarro
People's Choice Award - Riley Hanson
Intro 2D Student of the Year - Liz Lawmaster
Intro 3D Student of the Year - Ivy Enamorado
Photography Student of the Year - Brooke Fitch
Advanced Art Student of the Year - Jonathan Jimenez
Senior Artist of the Year - Jose Navarro
Senior Artist Recognition - Alyssa Richards

Athletic Awards
Senior Three Sports Letter Winners - Sara Slabaugh & Jasmine Schafer
Outstanding Senior Male Athlete - Caleb Coffel
Outstanding Senior Female Athlete - Sara Slabaugh
Mary Margaret Trice/Fritz Nierste Academic Award - Tyler Coffel
U.S. Army Reserve National Scholar/Athlete Award - Morgan Smith & Jacob Bennitt
U.S. Marines Distinguished Athlete Award - Katie Lafferty & Zach Zimmer

Unified Track Team
Garrett Maxson, Alaina Huffman, Katie Walter, Kasey Jones, Matthew Snyder, Zack Durlin, Dylan Shupert, Jeremiah Kaufman, & Josh Walter

To view our photo gallery... click here.


Local Radar