Thursday April 15, 2021



Delays and Closings

Last Updated:
Data Resets at 6:30PM Daily

People Section

Have a birth, engagement, marriage, anniversary, or obituary you want to appear in The People's Paper?
Email it to:
We receive notices from:
Mishler's Funeral Home
Community Hospital Bremen
If you use another facility for birth or burial, consider submitting the information or pictures to us directly.
This is a free service.

Marshall County DARE Students Honored

by Bremen Police Department on May 30, 2015

    Six Marshall County D.A.R.E. students were honored Thursday May 21 at the twenty-fourth annual Project D.A.R.E. of Marshall County banquet.  Madilyn Vanderweele, daughter of Todd and Stacy Vanderweele was the Argos Community Schools D.A.R.E. essay winner. Jessica Yelaska, daughter of Larry and Sharon Yelaska was the Bremen Community Schools D.A.R.E. essay winner. Taylor Lewandowski daughter of John and Sandy Lewandowski was the Culver Community Schools D.A.R.E. essay winner. Tallulah Gault, daughter of Reid and Phyllis Gault and Madison Stiles, daughter of Dennis and Kara Stiles were the Plymouth Community Schools D.A.R.E. essay winners. Hanna Hooley, daughter of Shawn and Brandy Hooley was the Triton Community Schools D.A.R.E. essay winner.  The students read their essays during the banquet, received a $100.00 check from Project D.A.R.E. of Marshall County, and had their names added to their schools D.A.R.E. essay winner’s plaque.  

    Plymouth High School graduate and recent Butler University graduate Eric Day was the special guest speaker for the evening and enlightened the audience with a heart-filled and educational presentation on staying positive.  

    Recognized during the banquet for their support and assistance to the DARE program were the Marshall County Courts Judge Dean Colvin, Judge Rob Bowen, Judge Curt Palmer, Marshall County Court Services Director Ward Byers,  Marshall County Committee for a Drug Free Indiana, Marshall County Prosecutor Mr. Nelson Chipman, Marshall County Government, United Way of Marshall County, Educators and Administrators from school corporations in Marshall County, local City and Town Police Departments Beacon Credit Union and Christo’s Banquet Center.

For more information please call Chief Matthew Hassel at the Bremen Police Department 574-546-3456.

Pictured left to right back row Asst. Chief Corey Bowman, Argos Police Department; Officer Matt Schnaible and Chief Matt Hassel, Bremen Police Department; Officer John Duhnovsky, Culver Police Department; Asst. Chief Mark Owen, Plymouth Police Department; and Officer Matt Haskins, Bourbon Police Department.

Front row Madilyn Vanderweele, Argos Schools; Jessica Yelaska, Bremen Schools; Taylor Lewandowski, Culver Schools; Tallulah Gualt, and Madison Stiles, Plymouth Schools; Hanna Hooley, Triton Schools.



Local Radar