Monday January 18, 2021



Delays and Closings

Last Updated:
Data Resets at 6:30PM Daily

People Section

Have a birth, engagement, marriage, anniversary, or obituary you want to appear in The People's Paper?
Email it to:
We receive notices from:
Mishler's Funeral Home
Community Hospital Bremen
If you use another facility for birth or burial, consider submitting the information or pictures to us directly.
This is a free service.

Troopers from Toll Road Post Honored at Awards Ceremony

by Indiana State Police on August 28, 2014

The Indiana State Police Department recently held an awards and recognition ceremony in Indianapolis. The ceremony publicly recognized the achievements and deeds of self sacrifice and accomplishments that all too often go without the proper recognition. Members of the Indiana State Police Department from around the state were honored for their dedication to service, bravery, and commitment to the department and the citizens of Indiana. 

Trooper Benjamin Werner was honored with the 2013 Trooper of the District Award for the Toll Road Post. This award is presented to the trooper in each district who has achieved outstanding enforcement efforts in the areas of traffic and criminal enforcement, case and crash investigations, public information programs and community service. They have also had to display the professionalism and integrity expected of an Indiana State Trooper. 

Werner, who is currently assigned to the Bremen Post, had been working out of the Toll Road Post in 2013. He has been a member of the department since 2011 and currently lives in St. Joseph County and patrols Elkhart County. 

District DUI awards were also presented to the trooper of each district with the highest annual total number of impaired driving arrests. Trooper Christopher Eagles earned the 2012 District DUI Award, and Trooper Brandon Davenport earned the 2013 District DUI Award for the Toll Road Post. 

Eagles has been with the state police since 2011 and resides in Munster. 

Davenport joined the department in 2006 and lives in Angola. 


Local Radar