Thursday April 15, 2021



Delays and Closings

Last Updated:
Data Resets at 6:30PM Daily

People Section

Have a birth, engagement, marriage, anniversary, or obituary you want to appear in The People's Paper?
Email it to:
We receive notices from:
Mishler's Funeral Home
Community Hospital Bremen
If you use another facility for birth or burial, consider submitting the information or pictures to us directly.
This is a free service.

IHSAA Moves Girls Basketball Season

by IHSAA on May 29, 2014

On Monday, May 5, 2014, the IHSAA Board of Directors, in its annual review of the IHSAA By‐Laws, approved moves involving the girls basketball season and also passed measures put forth by the Indiana Football Coaches Association with regard to summer participation and practice schedules. 
The group approved by an 18‐1 vote moving up the start of the girls basketball season by one week. Effective July 1, 2015, the first practice date, first authorized contest date as well as the dates of the state tournament will each be one week earlier to allow the entire girls basketball state tournament to be played separate from the boys state tournament. In turn the decision will also ensure the girls state finals will be played in Indianapolis. As was announced in March, the girls finals will return to Bankers Life Fieldhouse beginning next season. 
Also approved were recent proposals from the Indiana Football Coaches Association (IFCA) that go into effect immediately. 
The body unanimously voted for a proposal from the IFCA, including an amendment that would establish a more detailed criterion for conducting football practices, particularly the initial four days of practices with regard to allowable contact, equipment to be used and the duration of practices.  
Also approved by a 19‐0 vote was a proposal from the Indiana Football Coaches Association creating a new section of the Participation rule establishing specific criteria for football participation in the summer, including an amendment that specifies that the maximum time for a school’s Activity Day will be 3.5 hours over a five‐hour period. Schools will be allowed to sponsor up to 12 Football “Activity Days” where coaching staffs may work with two or more players from their teams. During those 12 days, five “Competition Days” may be designated allowing players to practice with or compete against players from another school. 
All proposals are considered in the order that the affected rule appears within the current by‐laws. The Board of Directors has four options on each proposal: affirm, deny, table or amend. A simple majority is necessary to act on any measure. A copy of the current by‐laws is available here. All approved measures become effective immediately unless otherwise noted. 
Other significant items from Monday’s meeting are highlighted below: 
 Approved 18‐1 an amendment to allow local school corporations to select coaching education courses as approved by the IHSAA and establish three levels of accreditation. This measure goes into effect with the 2015‐16 school year. 
 Approved a new section of the Enrollment and Attendance rule establishing requirements for a student enrolled in a Virtual Education School to qualify for participation in athletics at the Public School serving the student’s residence. 
 Turned down a measure by an 18‐0 count that would change the penalty for a transfer for primarily athletic reasons from 365 days of ineligibility to 365 days of limited ineligibility. 
 Affirmed unanimously an amendment to standardize rules in sports that use controlled scrimmages that a scrimmage may not occur sooner than the day following the fifth day of practice. 
 Approved by a 15‐4 vote increasing the number of season contests permitted in boys and girls basketball from 20 games to 22 games. 
  Clarified the transferrule that allowing a foreign exchange studentfull eligibility for amaximumof one calendar year regardless of whetherthat yearspansmore than one school year.
 Approved the addition of Rules 200 and 201 regarding Unified Athletics. 
 The elections for next year’s leadership of the Board and Executive Committee also were held. Indianapolis Cathedral Principal Dave Worland was voted president of the 2014‐15 Board of Directors and Fort Wayne Snider Principal Deborah Watson was selected as vice president. Tim Grove, Superintendent of South Knox School Corporation, was named chairman of the 2014‐15 Executive Committee and Mike Broughton, Athletic Director at Jennings County, was confirmed as vice chair. 
About the Board of Directors 
The IHSAA is governed by its legislative body, the Board of Directors. Composed of 19 individuals elected by member school principals from three legislative districts, they serve staggered three‐year terms. Twelve board seats are filled by any qualified individual (open seats), and seven board seats are filled by two qualified female representatives, two qualified minority representatives, two qualified urban school representatives and one qualified private school representative. The Board of Directors meets annually with the responsibility of establishing the Association’s By‐Laws and regulations. 
District, Seat  Board Member  Term Ends
District I, Class A  Debb Stevens, Caston  June 2014
District I, Class AA  Don Gandy, Wheeler  June 2015
District I, Class AAA  Nathan Dean, Jimtown  June 2014
District I, Class AAAA  Geoff Penrod, Columbia City* June 2015
District II, Class A  Ken Howell, Blackford  June 2015
District II, Class AA  Jimmie Howell, Lapel  June 2014
District II, Class AAA  Steve Cox, Beech Grove  June 2015
District II, Class AAAA  Phil Ford, Jay County  June 2014
District III, Class A  Jed Jerrels, North Daviess  June 2014
District III, Class AA  Tim Grove, South Knox School Corporation** June 2015
District III, Class AAA  Mike Whitten, Boonville  June 2014
District III, Class AAAA  Mike Broughton, Jennings County June 2015
North District, Female  Patti McCormack, Lowell  June 2016
North District, Minority  Deborah Watson, Fort Wayne Snider June 2016
North District, Urban  Janis Qualizza, Merrillville June 2016
South District, Female  Rae Woolpy, Richmond  June 2016
South District, Minority  Victor Bush, Indianapolis Arsenal Technical June 2016
South District, Urban  Paul Neidig, Evansville Vanderburgh Schools June 2016
Private School  Dave Worland, Indianapolis Cathedral June 2016
* President 
** Vice‐President 



Local Radar